Riverside senior pitcher Skylar Wightman earned the 3A Special District 1 Player of the Year this season as she pitched and helped her Pirates hit their way into a second place finish and a spot in the state playoffs.

Wightman finished with a 2.60 earned-run average in 76 innings in district play, registering 135 strikeouts — a ratio of 12.4 strikeouts per seven innings — to just 12 walks. She also handled the bat well, hitting for a .564 average with a home run, six doubles and 20 RBI while also drawing 17 walks.

Echo/Stanfield head coach Bryan Bailey earned district coach of the year honors after leading the Cougars to the regular season and district titles.

Along with Wightman on the all-district first team was pitcher Alyssa Ray from Echo/Stanfield, catcher Alex Putman from Echo/Stanfield, infielders Jordany Lambert (Weston-McEwen), Bailey Botefuhr (Irrigon), Michelle Weems (Echo/Stanfield), and Kendra Hart (Echo/Stanfield), outfielders Lauryn Journot (Umatilla), Marti Huff (Echo/Stanfield), Amber Weems (Echo/Stanfield), and utility players Charmayne Bennett (Weston-McEwen) and Alex Ford (Umatilla).

Seven of those players also earned spots on the Class 3A all-state team, voted on by the classification’s coaches. Wightman was a first team selection at pitcher, while Hart (.500 avg., 20 XBH, 29 RBI, 51 runs), Lambert (.562 avg., 6 HR, 32 RBI, 31 runs) and Weems (.485 avg., 2 HR, 35 RBI, 38 runs) were second team selections. Ray, Putman and Botefuhr rounded out the teams on as honorable mentions.

Also representing Eastern Oregon on the teams were Grant Union’s Brianna Zweygardt (first team catcher), Mariah Moulton (Second team pitcher/infield), Cody Jo Madden (HM pitcher), and Enterprise/Joseph/Wallowa’s Madison Plew (HM infield).



Player of the Year — Skylar Wightman, Riverside, sr.

Coach of the Year — Bryan Bailey, Echo/Stanfield


Pitcher — Skylar Wightman, Riverside, sr.; Alyssa Ray, Echo/Stanfield, sr.

Catcher — Alex Putman, Echo/Stanfield, jr.

Infield — Jordyn Lambert, Weston-McEwen, jr.; Bailey Botefuhr, Irrigon, soph.; Michelle Weems, Echo/Stanfield, jr.; Kendra Hart, Echo/Stanfield, soph.

Outfield — Lauryn Journot, Umatilla, sr.; Marti Huff, Echo/Stanfield, sr.; Amber Weems, Echo/Stanfield, soph.

Utility — Charmayne Bennett, Weston-McEwen, sr.; Alex Ford, Umatilla, jr.


Pitcher — Kendra Hart, Echo/Stanfield, soph.; Mya Chapman, Irrigon, sr.

Catcher — Amie Coffman, Weston-McEwen, sr.

Infield — Jada Burns, Irrigon, sr.; Monique Montoya, Echo/Stanfield, sr.; Karrizima Luna, Irrigon, jr.; Charlene Alvarez, Umatilla, jr.

Outfield — Megan Hegar, Riverside, soph.; Whitney Roggerio, Weston-McEwen, sr.; McKenna Collins, Irrigon, fr.

Utility — Lily Rockwell, Riverside, soph.; Railyn Elliott, Riverside, jr.


C Abby Hernandez, Riverside, sr.; IF JoJo Hernandez, Riverside, fr.; IF Tyree Burke, Weston-McEwen, jr.; UT Annalese Barnes, Echo/Stanfield, sr.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.