Hermiston missed the cut to make its first Washington Interscholastic Athletic Association cross-country meet, but coach Troy Blackburn sees a “bright future” for all of his runners.

The Hermiston girls finished fifth, with Cydney Sanchez leading the pack, placing 18th. Ellie Ernst was right behind her at 21st, and Alexia Serna finished third for the Bulldogs at 26th.

“These three girls have been running well all season,” Blackburn said. “I am so proud of them, and I look forward to seeing them get faster and faster.”

Freddy Mendoza led the boys, clocking in at 16:53, and finishing 23rd. Greg Anderson was less than a minute behind Mendoza, finishing at 17:15. Freshman Jackson Shaver ran a PR of of 17:53 — the Bulldogs’ third-fastest runner for the meet.

Mendoza and Anderson earned honorable mention for the Mid-Columbia Conference’s boys cross-country team.

Mendoza, whose best time this season was 16 minutes, 49.8 seconds, finished 18th at the MCC district meet, and 23rd at the MCC-GSL 3A District 8 Championships. He is a senior.

Anderson, a junior, was 21st at district and 29th at the District 8 meet. His top time this season was 17:08.80.

Kennewick senior Johan Correa and Kamiakin senior Ryan Child were co-runners of the year for the boys. Matt Rexus of Kamiakin was the coach of the year.

For the girls, Kennewick junior Geraldin Correa and Walla Walla sophomore Ella Nelson were the co-runners of the year. Katie Tate of Kennewick and Sean Suss of Kamiakin were named co-coaches of the year.


First team: Johan Correa, sr., Kennewick; Ryan Child, sr., Kamiakin; Stanford Smith, jr., Kamiakin; Riley Moore, sr., Richland; Caleb Olson, sr., Hanford; Porter Grigg, sr., Kamiakin; Cannon Angotti, jr., Walla Walla.

Second team: Tristan Robinson, sr., Southridge; Cooper Cortinas, jr., Walla Walla; Peyton Hill, sr., Kamiakin; Isaac Teeples, fr., Kamiakin; Jax Weide, jr., Kamiakin; Cameron Gutierrez, sr., Kamiakin; Austin Bachman, jr., Chiawana.

Honorable Mention: Ethan Dorow, jr., Southridge; Elias Torres, jr., Pasco; Jacoby Sherman, jr., Richland; Leonel Leon, jr., Kennewick; Ismael Tovar, jr., Kennewick; Lance Stites, sr., Southridge; Freddy Mendoza, sr., Hermiston; Gregory Anderson, jr., Hermiston.


First team: Ella Nelson, so., Walla Walla; Geraldin Correa, jr., Kennewick; McKinzi Teeples, sr., Kamiakin; Sophia Fetrow, jr., Richland; Bailey Carr, sr., Richland; Grace Arnold, sr., Hanford; Alexa Neff, sr., Chiawana; Emma Summers, so., Richland.

Second team: Kathryn Bushman, sr., Hanford; Hannah Paulsen, so., Kamiakin; Marisa Memmott, so., Kamiakin; Kendra Keller, jr., Hanford; Carli Jones, sr., Kamiakin; Hailey Bullis, sr., Chiawana; Brooklyn Meehan, so., Kamiakin.

Honorable mention: Lauren Thompson, fr., Kennewick; Mirina Enderlin, so., Hanford; Elizabeth McCluskey, fr., Hanford; Madeline Dawson, sr., Hanford; Sariah Hepworth, fr., Walla Walla; Macy Marquardt, fr., Kennewick; Megan Wright, sr., Hanford; Isabella Qunell, so., Kamiakin.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.