LA GRANDE — Eastern Oregon University named 523 students to the dean's list for the 2019 fall term. Qualifying students achieve and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale while completing a minimum of 12 hours of graded EOU coursework.

The following local students earned this distinction:

Boardman: Veronica Alvarez Frias, Mayra Llamas Fregoso, Joseph O'Brien; Echo: Elizabeth Cox; Hermiston: Monica Aguilar, Vanessa Ambriz Mendoza, Ryne Andreason, Lara Arriola, Stephanie Avila, Ashleigh Banker, Jennifer Fuentes, Timothy Handforth, Vaughan Hawkins, Andrew James, Adara Lopez, Kody Moss, Edgar Navarrete Ruiz, Cecia Palacios, Ethan Pitzer, Bailey Srofe, Ellen Vander Stelt, Luke Walchli; Umatilla: Yoshira Escamilla, Christy Macias, Rachelle Nycz.

Eastern Oregon University was founded in 1929 as a teacher's college and today serves as a center for education, culture, and scholarship in rural areas of Oregon. At EOU students receive personal attention from their professors while building strong relationships with peers and mentors. Visit for more information.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.