Ross, Alatorre first team All-IMC

HHS junior guard J.J. Ross was named to the first team All-IMC list for his strong play this season, along with Ramiro Alatorre.

By David Bashore

Herald sports editor

Hermiston guard tandem Ramiro Alatorre and J.J. Ross were recognized by Intermountain Conference coaches as first-team All-IMC players this season at the postseason meeting.

It is the second first-team recognition for Alatorre, a senior who finished fifth in the conference in scoring despite missing the last three games of the regular season.

Ross completed a roller-coaster season by finishing strong down the conference stretch, and his signature moment of the season was a 37-point performance against Madras, the second-highest single game point total in the IMC this season.

Bulldog forward Aaron Allbee was rewarded for a breakout season when he was named to the second-team All-IMC squad.

Sam Grogan rounded out the Bulldog All-IMC honors with an honorable mention selection.

The conference player of the year, for the second consecutive season, was Washington State-bound Abe Lodwick of Mountain View.

Lodwick won the honor outright this season after sharing the award last season with Crook County's Thomas McCarthy, who now plays at Eastern Oregon.

Mountain View head coach Craig Ried and Madras coach Evan Brown shared coach of the year honors.

Hermiston and Mountain View jointly led all teams with four All-IMC selections apiece.

2007 All-IMC Boys Basketball

Player of the Year: Abe Lodwick, Mountain View

Coaches of the Year: Evan Brown, Madras; Craig Reid, Mountain View

First Team: Ramiro Alatorre, Hermiston; David Reeher, Crook County; Kent Ervin, Bend; Derrick Metcalf, Madras; Nathan Rooney, Mountain View; J.J. Ross, Hermiston

Second Team: Harlan Porterfield, Summit; Nick Klein, Mountain View; Shann West, Pendleton; Jansen Harrington, Madras; Aaron Allbee, Hermiston; Jason Yecny, The Dalles-Wahtonka

Third Team: Sean Evert, Summit; James Nunez, Crook County; Orrin Wallace, Madras; Mike Gould, Crook County; Cameron McGuire, Bend

Honorable Mention: Tyler Fristedt, Bend; Dallin Wilcox, Mountain View; Tucker Whitten, Pendleton; Sam Grogan, Hermiston; Chad Howard, Crook County

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.