Oregon’s minimum wage will see an increase on July 1.
Umatilla and Morrow counties, which fall under the nonurban category, will increase from $11 an hour to $11.50. The Portland metro area will increase to $13.25, and “standard” counties will go from $12 to $12.25.
The increases are part of a bill passed by the Oregon Legislature in 2016, dividing counties into categories and mandating incremental increases in minimum wage each summer.
The entire state had a minimum wage of $9.25 an hour before the bill was passed. By July 2022 nonurban counties, found mostly in Eastern Oregon, will rise to $12.50 while the Portland metro area will be at $14.75.
The state does not allow employers to count tips as part of an employee’s base pay — they must be paid at least minimum wage directly by the employer and be allowed to keep tips in addition to that amount.
For more information about minimum wage, visit oregon.gov/boli/workers/Pages/minimum-wage.aspx or call 971-673-0761.